Washington State Department of Transportation Memorial Foundation
Copyright WSDOTMF © 2011/2014.
About Us
WSDOT Annual Report
Contact Us
Donate to WSDOTMF
Memorial Page
Fallen Workers
WSDOTMF Scholarship Program
Gift Shop
A Monument in the making!
Submit Your Photos Make
the Monument Your Own!
Click here
New Dahlia Collection
2014 WSDOTMF Events
Introducing a New Dahlia Collection
honoring one of the
WSDOT Fallen Workers.

It’s called the  Billy ‘Bud’ Rhynalds’
Worker Memorial Collection and
it’s made up of a collection of oranges
and one red Cornel dahlia,
which was Billy's favorite.  
Annual Meeting
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
For agenda email:
WSDOT Memorial Foundation
Board Kelsey Williams’
graduation from South Puget
Sound Community College

Along with her twin sister Krystal.
Kelsey received the first
scholarship from the WSDOTMF in
2012 that was renewed in 2013.
This scholarship was used to help
Kelsey complete the Fire and
Emergency Services Program at

-Click Image for Full View-

In addition to the graduation
celebration, board members took
the opportunity to award Kelsey
with a scholarship to help her
pursue a Bachelor’s Degree in Fire
Administration at Western Oregon
University. Krystal was also
awarded a scholarship as she
plans to pursue an Associates
Degree and career as a Veterinary
Technician from Pierce College.
Both girls will continue their
education this
upcoming academic year.
Monthly Memorial Tribute

Each month we will honor and pay tribute to our fallen workers.
This month we pay tribute to the following five WSDOT workers.
Edward Bowles, July 5, 1955, Eastern Region, Maintenance Tech. Ed was
spreading rock from a truck and injured a finger while fixing the tail gate
latch of the truck. Although he was immediately treated by a doctor, he
died several weeks later from tetanus – the result of a minor injury that
got out of control.  
Robert J. Forrest, July 7, 1982, South Central Region, Transportation
Tech 3. Robert was on a paving project when he was struck from behind
by a truck backing up to dump a load of asphalt.
Gordon Burlingame, July 17, 1992, North Central Region, Avalanche
Control Supervisor. “Gordie” was working alone to dismantle a 22-foot
high radio tower from the roof of a dormitory building at Berne Camp on
Stevens Pass. The tower became unstable and fell on top of him.
Patricia L. Oberg, July 19, 1989, Southwest Region, Transportation Tech
1. Patricia was on a survey crew and stepped too close to the edge of a
rock quarry. Rocks gave way and she fell to the bottom of the quarry,
suffering head injuries.
Paul J. Yandt, July 29, 1953, South Central Region. Paul was killed while
working seven miles south of Connell when a truck and trailer smashed
into his highway department truck, pinning him.
National Work Zone Safety
Awareness Week Kickoff
Event held in Seattle
on April 8 2014.
-Click Image for Full View -

Washington State
Department of
Memorial Foundation
PO Box 1367
Olympia, WA
New online Donations feature!
Here to donate today
"... To preserve the memory of the Washington State Department of Transportation fallen workers  and to provide assistance to active and
retired employees and their families in times of need."
Washington State